2022 in Review

2022 in Review

ยท

4 min read

Whoops!! Never done this before but like they say there is always a first time for everything ๐Ÿ˜œ. So 2022 was great, had the wins and the failures and I'm definitely putting them down to be accountable and do better next year ๐Ÿ’ƒ. Shall we!!

I got My First Internship!!

This is a big deal for me ๐Ÿ˜‚, I mean I smiled all through the day because of it. Initially, I was passively learning HTML, CSS, and a little bit of Javascript in 2021 but I had other major priorities to take care of academically basically grades and scholarships ๐Ÿ˜œ(who doesn't like money!!).

With the strike period, I decided to take my tech journey seriously. In May, I got an internship recommendation from a friend. after the whole interview process, I got in!!
it was really different from working alone and I had to adapt to lots of changes too. One thing that stood out for me was the "Say It" culture meaning you get to make that opinion, talk about that idea and if you are wrong you get corrected.

Got into the Outreachy Contribution Stage

After being rejected in 2021 when I applied for outreachy, this made me happy because I wasn't rejected like before, it gave me the opportunity to contribute to Oppia Project where I had to hone my teaching/writing skills(not planning to be a teacher though๐Ÿ˜‚). Connected with more people and basically learned how to contribute to an open-source project.

Unfortunately, I could not make it to the internship stage but I am happy with the value I got during the process.

Got my First Job

This came as a surprise to be honest because I was never ready for a job, I mean I already had an internship and personal learnings to do and I did not feel qualified for a job yet. Anyway I got an interview invite after randomly submitting my CV to a job vacancy posted in one of the tech communities I was in. After the interview process, I got in!!๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿ’ƒ

Became an AWS Community Builder

I remember searching online for resources that could help me improve my frontend skills and that was how I saw the AWS Certified Associate Exam. That got me to research more on AWS and I liked what I saw. As they say, the best way to learn and grow in tech is by "joining communities" and I did that by applying to the program. luckily I got in!!. Click here to learn more about the programโ˜บ๏ธ

Became a Microsoft Learn Student Ambassador

This was one of the rejections I had in 2021, but I believe I did it right this time by connecting with people who were in it already and also prepared well during the application process. The process actually got me into writing and I do not regret it one bit. Working on writing and improving more this year๐Ÿ’ƒ.

Started out Writing

I remember running away from socials after posting my first article,๐Ÿ˜‚ That article actually turned out to have the most engagement and views. Awesome right!!!

Became Active in different Tech communities

Prior to 2022, I was not so active in the tech communities I was in, and shied away from lots of things(can't say why) but 2022 was different because I did my best in participating and engaging in the different communities I am in.

Failures

That's actually a word, I wouldn't call it failures but mistakes (looking for a light word๐Ÿ˜‚) but those mistakes shaped and will help me make better decisions in 2023

  • got a couple of rejections

  • missed out on different opportunities because I felt not qualified.

  • Procrastinated more and that actually messed up my time management.

Lessons for 2023

Having reflected on my activities in 2022, I guess I missed out on something which is "being audacious", I mean you lose nothing in trying, Even if you fail you will definitely learn something from it.

That was a whole lot, if you read till the end you are definitely my Gee right now๐Ÿฅฐ. Cheers to a better 2023๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿฅณ.

ย